Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Santa Fe City Council to vote on 28th Amendment Resolution on June 12

June 12 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

The “Federal Regulation of Campaign Contributions” resolution, written by New Mexicans for Money Out of Politics’ Resolutions Committee (with a few edits by the City of Santa Fe) and proposed and supported by NMMOP in partnership with American Promise, is on the agenda for the Santa Fe City Council meeting on Wednesday, June 12, at 5 pm.

The resolution, introduced by Mayor Alan Webber, was passed unanimously by the City Council’s Finance Committee on June 3, 2019.  Councilors Rivera and Romero-Wirth have signed on as cosponsors.

The resolution calls on the U.S. Congress to draft and adopt an amendment clarifying that constitutional rights are the rights of human beings and not the rights of artificial entities, and that government may and shall regulate campaign contributions and expenditures to protect the people from undue corruption and undue or disproportionate influence in elections and government.

Please call and/or send emails:

  1. ThankingMayor Webber for introducing this resolution.
  2. ThankingFinance Committee members Romero-Wirth, Lindell, Rivera, Abeyta, and Harris for moving the resolution through the Finance Committee.
  3. ThankingCouncilors Romero-Wirth and Rivera for co-sponsoring the resolution.
  4. AskingCouncilors Villareal, Ives, and Vigil-Coppler to vote in favor of this resolution.

(See contact information below.)

In addition, if you have the time, please consider attending the City Council meeting on June 12, at 5 p.m., to show support for the passage of the resolution.  The meeting will be held in the City Council Chambers at 200 Lincoln Ave., on the corner of Lincoln and Marcy.

We have been advised that the resolution will likely be considered and may be passed by consent at or near the beginning of the meeting, so please try to be in the chambers room at or before 5 p.m.

Thank you!!!

Santa Fe Finance Committee Members

Councilor Roman Abeyta (Chair) (505) 955-6814
rrabeyta@santafenm.gov

Councilor Chris Rivera (505) 955-6818
cmrivera@santafenm.gov

Councilor Carol Romero-Wirth (505) 955-6815
cromero-wirth@santafenm.gov

Councilor Signe Lindell (505) 955-6812
silindell@santafenm.gov

Councilor Michael Harris (505) 955-6817
maharris@santafenm.gov

 

Additional Council and Mayor

Renee Villarreal (505) 955-2345
rdvillarreal@santafenm.gov

JoAnne Vigil Coppler(505) 955-6811
jvcoppler@santafenm.gov

Peter Ives (505) 955-6816
pnives@santafenm.gov

Alan Webber
Mayor 
(505) 955-6590
mayor@santafenm.gov

Details

Date:
June 12
Time:
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Website:
https://www.santafenm.gov/weekly_meeting_list__agendas

Organizer

City of Santa Fe
Website:
https://www.santafenm.gov/

Venue

City Council Chambers
200 Lincoln Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87504 United States
+ Google Map
© 2019 by New Mexicans for Money Out of Politics